The suppression list is a special type of subscriber list. There is only one per account, and it contains email addresses you don't want to send to, to help protect your sending reputation. Email addresses on the suppression list can't be accidentally imported or added to your regular subscriber lists.
Below, we'll explain how email addresses are automatically added to the suppression list, and how you can suppress email addresses yourself. This comes in handy if you've previously maintained a "do not email" list in an external tool, or switched to us from another email service provider.
Automatically Added Email Addresses
A subscriber's email address is automatically added to the suppression list if:
- The address hard bounces.
- The subscriber marks one of your emails as spam (unless they are on Gmail).
- The subscriber unsubscribes, or you set their status to unsubscribed.
- It was part of a bulk remove operation, with the "Unsubscribe from all lists" option selected.
When viewing the suppression list, the reasons for the above items will be shown as either "Unsubscribed", "Marked as Spam" or "Bounced".
Manage Your Suppression List
To access the suppression list, you must have at least one subscriber list. To view your suppression list, navigate to the Nurture App within your Marketing 360 dashboard:
- Select the Email Lists tab at the top of the page.
- Click Suppressions on the left-hand sidebar.
You will then see the suppression list, along with the reason each email was added to the list. If they were added automatically, the reason will be "Unsubscribed", "Marked as Spam" or "Bounced". If you see "Suppressed", it means the email address was added manually.
You can also export your suppression list into a CSV document by clicking Export list on the top-right corner above the list.
Add email addresses
To manually add email addresses to the suppression list, click Add to suppression list on the top right side of the page, then follow the instructions.
Email addresses added in this way will have the reason "Suppressed".
Remove email addresses
To remove email addresses from the suppression list, select the checkbox to the right of the email addresses you want to remove, then click Remove from suppression list.
When removing an email address from the suppression list, you also need to change its subscriber status back to "Active" for the list it was on.
Suppression List Overrides
Email addresses on the suppression list can still be added to a subscriber list, if subscribers:
- Sign up again after unsubscribing, through a signup form.
- Have their status changed from "Bounced", "Marked as Spam" or "Unsubscribed" to "Active".
These methods bypass the suppression list for the chosen subscriber list only. The email address will remain on the suppression list, to prevent it being accidentally imported or added to other subscriber lists.
Article is closed for comments.