Collecting user data can sometimes lead to duplicate contacts in your CRM. This usually happens when a user submitted a form twice with different data, or if they two submitted different forms. Regardless of how they ended up there, there's an easy way to resolve the issue. Merge the contacts together! Follow the steps outlined below to merge the contacts and clean up your CRM.
What Does Merging Contacts Do?
By merging Contacts, you can combine the details from two duplicate Contacts into one profile. The Contact that you are taking the details FROM will be combined with the Contact you are adding them TO - as long as the data is "missing".
For example, if you have "Contact B" and "Contact A", and you are choosing to delete "B" so it merges with "A", then you will be left with "Contact A's" information taking priority. If both "B" and "A" have emails, "A's" email will display. If both "B" and "A" have phone numbers, then "A's" phone number will show.
Now, if "B" has an email but "A" does not, then your "Contact A" will now show "B's" email in its place when merged.
The data that will append (or "add to") will be Type, Status, Assign to, and Tags. These four attributes will show what both "A" and "B" had and combine them.
How to Merge Contacts
To get started, log in to your Marketing 360 dashboard and navigate to the CRM.
- Sort your Contacts by Contact Name or Email in alphabetical order. This will make it easier to find potential duplicates.
- Identify duplicate contacts and check the box on left side of the two contacts you want to merge.
- Click on Actions at the top-left corner of your CRM List, and select Merge from the dropdown menu. You may need to refresh to see final results. 'Deleted' contact may appear grayed out initially.
In the future, if you add Contacts manually, make sure to always search for their name or email before creating a new Contacts to avoid duplicates.
Article is closed for comments.